Going home

Since starting this blog, there’s been many trains but nothing in the way of planes and labradors… that is, until now. The reason for this is that I’ve recently flown into my home town of Perth, Australia for the wedding of a close friend, more specifically this friend:

Paul 2

My friend suffers from a very tragic and very real condition in which a state of terror is induced whenever a water bottle is placed on his head. Not convinced? Here’s some further evidence:

Paul 1

It’s all very sad. Anyway, I’m very excited to be back in Australia, where I’ve spent over two decades of my life. I always find going home a little disorientating. I know it’s just another English-speaking country, but the climate, general lifestyle and demeanour of the average person are just so different to what I’ve become accustomed to in England that it always feels like I’ve travelled to another planet rather than another city on the other side of the world. That said, this is my fourth trip back since I moved to England and the transition already feels a lot smoother than usual. Could this be a side effect of my itinerant lifestyle of late? I know not.

So in summary, I’m very excited to be here. Excited and ever so slightly confused. Some things you can expect in the next couple of weeks:

– an appearance from a dear old friend and a VERY SPECIAL client

– tales of debauchery from the stag party and wedding night (if I can get away with it)

I’ll also keep my eyes peeled for some labradors. Wouldn’t want to be accused of false advertising after all.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

